Relief Fund: Ijegun Fire Victims Get N81m.

By on May 16, 2013

In 2008, a fire disaster as a result of pipeline explosion occurred at Ikotun-Igando Local Council Development Area, LCDA affecting lives and destroying properties worth millions of Naira. Those affected by the disaster can now smile to the bank as the Lagos State Government has commenced the disbursement of N81 million relief fund to compensate the victims.

At the presentation of the list of the affected victims in Alausa, Ikeja, the General Manager of Lagos State Emergency Management Agency, LASEMA, Dr. Femi Oke-Osayintolu said the entire victims had been divided into four categories: A, B, C and D based on the degree of loss suffered during the disaster.

It was estimated that there were over 233 victims but in an effort to have a genuine list, the Lagos State Government asked the community to inaugurate a committee on the disaster, chaired by Rev. Olaseni Shoewu.

Dr. Femi Oke-Osayintolu said Category A is for those who died during the disaster and will receive more than N1 million from the fund, those who had permanent disability belong to Category B and will get over N400,000. Category C are those that lost their means of livelihood, they get over N200,000, while Category D is for those with mild injuries and they get over N90,000


Share this:
Share this page via Email Share this page via Stumble Upon Share this page via Digg this Share this page via Facebook Share this page via Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>